What Are you Going to Do…

What are you going to do when you finish uni?

I can’t currently have a convocation with someone without this topic coming up! And it drives me mad because I do not have the slightest clue what so ever! I’m currently to busy drowning in my dissertation to even think about anything else let alone what I am actually going to do with my life. What happened to taking one step at a time? please don’t push me like 10 steps ahead! I have to make it through assessments, dissertation deadlines, choreography rehearsals and performances, my final show and everyday in-between first before we think about organising the rest of my life. A lot of people I speak to know exactly what they are going to do and that’s cool like yay for you! But I don’t and you don’t have to pressurise me to follow in your organised foot steps.

Basically the moral of this rant is that I don’t know what I’m doing yet and to be honest I think that’s ok right now. I’ve had a tough 3 years and I think I need just a little R&R for a while to get my head back on track. Also a bit of time to decided what I really actually want to do with life. Don’t worry I do plan on getting a casual job to tide me over for a while so I am not a complete bum. And at some point I want to go travelling to see this mad world, but that’s all I know so far and for me right now that’s enough for me!

So there you go if we ever meet face to face you have my answer…

Thanks for reading another brain fart blog, I am currently writing this in my Pj’s with messy hair that needs washing and I should probably be writing my dissertation and not a random blog post..

Little Mayfly x

4 thoughts on “What Are you Going to Do…

  1. I think that’s a good way of seeing things – A bit of R&R, get some space, have some fun, get some experience, and then gradually you’ll come to figure out what you like and want (or perhaps at least what you don’t!) and go from there. There’s so much pressure to know what you want to do and develop a path… I speak from experience, as it’s been a couple of years since my degree with no real ‘path’ in mind yet! Sometimes the most wonderful things however can happen when you ‘go with the flow’ and keep your options open. All the best with the dissertation! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I ran into the same issue and wrote a post that is right in line with how you feel: I had no idea what I was going to do! I’m rooting for you and the book Defining Decade is a GREAT read that I think you’ll enjoy. If you go on youtube, there’s even a TED Talk by “Meg Jay”. Give it a listen first – and I’m sure the book will inspire you!

    http://www.kimberlyluxe.com/2013/08/career-woes-practicality-princess-vs.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

